Positive Posts

What’s the weather like where you are?

 

Maybe I have S.A.D. I’ve never been diagnosed or anything but skipping down Piccadilly last week, I’m not sure what was brighter, the rays of the sunshine over St James Park or the glare from my teeth as I was smiling so much?  I think I was slightly overwhelmed with happiness at the beauty and presence  of the sunshine. It was that rare sunshine that actually had a little bit of heat behind it (Only UK readers will understand this). I am one of those people that are for the most part always cold.

Can you believe this? In my previous life in the corporate world i’d have daily standoff’s with my mainly male colleagues over the heating in the office. ‘No way’ Dionne i hear you say! Yes way!

Our morning and afternoon arguement went a little something like this: (Insert any masculine name here) You will not be turning on the Arctic breeze it’s bloody freezing outside and you want to bring that blizzard in here? I don’t think so!

Like a dream there were some mornings that a radiator that actually worked would be left under my desk. This would actually make my day. Yes, I am that easily pleased (Thank you so much kind heater fairy)

Anyway, i digress. I’m sitting here at my keyboard and everytime the sun shines I feel happy and a light relief washes over me. Now it’s gone cloudy again and I notice that I feel different.

This reminded me that I’ve been attempting to read Steven Coveys ‘7 Habits of highly effective people’ again.  This book is one of the many books I like to go to when I need a boost of focus. Within the pages I am reminded that in fact it would be wise to ‘Bring my own weather with me’.

What does this mean?

My interpretation of this going back to my recent self diagnosis of S.A.D (Seasonal Affective Disorder) is simply that the sun isn’t always going to be shining (Which living in England is hardly news) nor will the radiators be always on! But this should not deter us from taking action, being proactive and shining our light into the world.  We are the sunshine and/or the storm. We get to choose how we show up. To require an external source to provide us with the necessary motivation to be happy, focused or productive is naive and lazy at best.

We have it within us to bring whatever weather we wish to our day to day lives. Regardless of whether we are surrounded by storms, clouds, sadness and annoyances. It is up to us to bring the solution to what we perceive to be the problems or negativities in life.

Mr Covey says ‘Reactive people are often affected by their physical environment. If the weather is good they feel good. If it isn’t, it affects their attitude and their performance.’ He goes on to say Proactive people can carry their own weather with them. Whether it rains or shines makes no difference to them.

A great reminder for me to wake up out of my reactive state and back into proactivity. It is so important to remember that we are all the captains of our own ship and we can steer (or not) in the direction we wish to go without needing the excuses of what’s going on outside of us that we actually can’t control.

Responsibility.  Response – Ability.  I’ll just leave that right there.

Much love

DW

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What’s the weather like where you are?

Leave a Reply

